YOU SHOULD BE A VEGAN AND EAT NO ANIMAL PRODUCTS, INCLUDING FISH, EGGS, MILK, YOGURT, LOCUSTS OR MEAT.
IS THIS **REALLY** GOD’S PLAN?
MY RESPONSE TO A VEGAN CRITIC (updated 4/22/11)
An added comment. It was asserted that many saints and Catholic ascetics were vegans. My response:
“One more comment about ascetics who supposedly ate a vegan diet. In modern terms, they were not vegans. Veganism today is usually not simply a simple diet but an ideology which says that eating meat is cruelty, exploitation of animals and is morally wrong.
Christian ascetics ate a simple diet as a form of fasting and penance. They did NOT avoid eating because they thought eating an animal was immoral. To do so would be to say Jesus had acted immorally. They avoided meat because it was an extravagant pleasure.
Just as they would not wear a mink coat because it was an extravagance, so they did not eat meat because it too was considered – not a sin or immoral act – but an extravagance. For most of history meat, like a fur coat, was an expensive indulgence of the rich.
This distinction is important in the discussion of Christianity and veganism. The ascetics were not vegans in the same sense or for the same reason as most modern ideological vegans. They simply ate a simple diet which avoided luxuries like meat (and fur coats).”